Thursday, December 8, 2022



Wasim Jaffer trolls England following India’s series win over New Zealand



Former India cricketer Wasim Jaffer took to social media to troll the England cricket team after India beat New Zealand in the Test series at home last month.

The Men in Blue won their 14th consecutive Test series at home after beating New Zealand in the second Test at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Scores were level after the first Test ended in a draw in Kanpur, but India completely outplayed the Kiwis and stormed to a massive 372-run victory.

Mohammed Siraj played a starring role in the first innings of the Test in taking down the Kiwis, taking the wickets of Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, and Will Young in his first three overs. India’s spinners followed his lead, and dismissed the next seven players fairly quickly, leaving NZ all out for a mere 62.

The visitors opted to drop veteran pacer Neil Wagner – a decision Jaffer found baffling, and he took to Koo to express his thoughts.

“NZ played well but they’ll rue not playing Wagner at Kanpur. Despite down 51-5 and lacking six first-choice players, India managed to break away and almost win. For teams to fear New Zealand, they must routinely win away from home. “Because everyone wins at home (except England),” he explained.

Along with slamming NZ for their selection woes, Jaffer also hit out at England’s woeful Test record at home. Joe Root’s side lost a Test series to New Zealand at home earlier this year and were trailing 1-2 to India in a five-match Test series which halted midway in September due to a number of positive COVID-19 cases in the Indian camp.

Reports have suggested that England are set to host India next July to conclude the Test series.

This wasn’t the first time Jaffer took to social media to troll New Zealand. Following the first innings of the second test, Jaffer shared a picture of Amitabh Bachchan from a tourism advertisement on Twitter, telling the Kiwis to:

“spend at least a few days in Mumbai”

India, for now, are preparing for the South Africa Test series which starts on December 26. A strong 21-man squad has been announced, with Rohit Sharma being named as Vice-Captain.

Hanuma Vihari returns to the side alongside KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Shardul Thakur. Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, and Rahul Chahar all miss out due to injuries, and no return dates have been released for any of the four.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...