Wednesday, December 7, 2022



There are no Indian players in the ICC ODI Team of the Year 2021: Declared Babar Azam captain of the team



On Thursday the International Cricket Council (ICC) disclosed or announced the names of the men’s ODI team for 2021. Babar Azam of Pakistan has been named captain of the line-up, which does not include any players from India, England and Australia. On Wednesday, the ICC had also shared the men’s T20I squad of 2021, which did not include a single Indian and Babar was the captain.

ICC men’s team

Paul Stirling, Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Janman Malan, Rassi van der Dussen, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Wanidu Hasranga, Simi Singh, Mustafizur Rahman, Dushmantha Chamira.

Talking about the ODI XI, Paul Stirling of Ireland made it. He ended the calendar year with 885 runs including 3 centuries. South Africa’s Janman Malan was ranked No. 3 with Babar as the second opener while Fakhar Zaman took the No. 4 spot. The rest of the middle-order includes Rassie van der Dussen, who played a match-winning knock of 129 not out against India in the first ODI on Wednesday (January 19) along with Bangladeshi pair of Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim. Apart from Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Shakib, and Simi Singh (Ireland’s) are the two all-rounders, while Dushmantha Chamira and Mustafizur Rahman are the two fast bowlers.

Babar had a stellar performance in 2021, being named as the all-out white-ball captain by the ICC. Under Babar’s leadership, Pakistan won the ODI series in South Africa and also reached the semi-finals of the 2021 T20 World Cup held in the United Arab Emirates. There was no talk about of some big ticket players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Jos Buttler, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, David Warner, Pat Cummins etc. No Indian was named in the men’s ODI team of the year since 2004.

While there were no Indians in the team, it should be noted that the senior men’s team played only a few ODIs in 2021 (the same goes for the other big teams). India played six ODIs – winning four of them – with several regulars missing the 50-over leg versus Sri Lanka, in the island nation, in mid-2021.

No player from Team India made the cut in the elusive list shared by the ICC. No Indian batsman or bowler has been able to break into the top ten with the most runs and wickets respectively. Team India’s T20I 2021 was also forgotten due to being out of the Super 12 round in the World Cup. Though Rohit Sharma did manage some decent performances and finished with 424 runs, he was not impressive enough to enter the list.

The wizard captain Babar Azam made some important offerings to the difficult tours of England and South Africa, the player is been awarded with the player of the match award in both of their victories. Fakhar Zaman another player century against South Africa, will be remembered for ages, by chasing 342 runs, he scored 193 runs in Johannesburg to almost take Pakistan home.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...