Thursday, December 8, 2022



South Africa name strong 21-member Test Squad; Rohit Sharma named Vice-Captain for India



Cricket South Africa named a strong 21-man squad ahead of the Test series with India later this month.

The tour, which set to start on December 26, will see the two teams play three Tests and three ODIs over the course of three weeks.

The first Test match will be played at SuperSport Park in Centurion on December 26, with the following Tests to be held in Johannesburg and Cape Town. Three ODIs follow on January 19, 21, and 23, and will be played in Paarl and Newlands, respectively.

In preparation for the series, CSA have announced their squad, as Duanne Olivier, Glenton Stuurman, and Prenelan Subrayen return to the side while Sisanda Magala and Ryan Rickelton have received their maiden Test call-ups.

Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and Quinton de Kock who were rested for the ODIs against the Netherlands return to the side as the Proteas eye a home Test series win.

For India, Rohit Sharma has been named as the Vice-Captain, while Ajinkya Rahane, despite his injury, has retained his spot in the side. Hanuma Vihari returns to the side alongside KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Shardul Thakur.

“The following players have been unable to be selected due to an injury and are now undergoing rehabilitation: Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, and Rahul Chahar,” the BCCI said in an official release”

Jadeja is nursing an injured forearm, while Axar has a stress-fracture, and Gill’s shin injury, sustained back in England in August, has reportedly resurfaced.

Shreyas Iyer, who made his mark during the Kanpur Test hitting a century on his debut, has also been named alongside Mayank Agarwal, who also stepped up during the New Zeland Test series.

The tour was delayed by a week due to the outbreak of the new coronavirus variant in South Africa, but CSA has announced that the tour will take place under strict bio-secure conditions.

India’s Test squad:

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, and Arzan Nagwaswalla are among those who have participated.

South Africa’s Test squad:

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Dean Elgar, Duanne Olivier, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...