Friday, December 9, 2022



IPL mega auction likely to take place in Bengaluru or UAE



The mega auction of the IPL will be held on Feb. 7th and 8th in Bengaluru. This was confirmed by a senior official from the BCCI.

Two new franchises Ahmedabad and Lucknow have been added to the existing pool of eight. This is the 15th edition of the league with 10 specialty teams. The official said that till the COVID-19 condition does not worsen, the IPL will have a mega auction. The mega auction is likely to be shifted to UAE. Multiple reports suggest that there has been an increase in the Omron version of COVID-19 in India, due to which such a change is expected.

Additional teams have been given until December 25 to select their three non-retained players, whereas, the current eight teams have retained their players. It is likely that the deadline may be extended; however, the Ahmedabad franchise is yet to receive the letter of intent from the BCCI as the investment company in the UK has come up.

As now all IPL teams are aiming to build an ecosystem, other franchise owners feel that the mega auction has outlived its usefulness. All franchises participating in the event lose players because the retention process does not allow them. For example, the co owner of the team Delhi Capitals Mr. Jindal expressed how difficult it was for the franchise to retain its players.

He added by saying that it feels sad to lose Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Ashwin and Kagiso Rabada because of the auction process. IPL while moving forward should focus on the issue where you give players chance to play and groom, playing for the country, and eventually losing them. Jindal had said after the players’ retentions were announced on November 30.

However, this year’s tournament will not have the usual domestic and overseas format, with games being played in only six cities – Kolkata, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Ahmedabad. The first part of the tournament will also be played behind closed doors due to the increasing number of coronavirus cases in the country.

The Eight participating teams will be:

  1. Mumbai Indians
  2. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  3. Delhi Capitals
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders
  5. Sunrisers Hyderabad
  6. Rajasthan Royals
  7. Punjab Kings
  8. Chennai Super Kings


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...