Monday, November 28, 2022



IPL 2022 : Sourav Ganguly announces venues for IPL group stage matches – Playon99 News



The head of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, Sourav Ganguly, has confirmed that the India Premier League year 2022 is going to be held on Thursday, February 3. The India Premier League (IPL) 2022 is all set to be held in India.

Overall this year IPL is going to witness 74 league games in which two new teams are participating, one is Ahmedabad CVC Capital team and other is Lucknow Super Giants. This time it is going to be very interesting as it has 10 teams representing 10 states and loving audience from each state.

While giving an interview to Star Sports, Sourav Ganguly said that the first two matches will be held in Mumbai and Pune, but the venue for these venues has not been decided yet.

This is what Ganguly said in a precise statement:

“It (IPL 2022) will be held in India this year, until and unless the COVID-19 hits the roof. So far, it has been decided that the IPL will be played in India. As far as venues are concerned, we are looking at hosting the matches in Maharashtra – Mumbai and Pune. We will then take a call on the venue for the knockout stages”

Specifically three stadiums are available in Mumbai and one from Pune. DY Patil, CCI, Brabourne and Wankhede Stadium. Only in these four stadiums BCCI can hold matches simultaneously.

On the other hand, Narendra Modi Stadium which is in Ahmedabad with at least 25 per cent crowd is planning to welcome the mega league with open arms. According to a report published in Times of India, the play-off may be hosted in the city. 25% crowd can be allowed in the stadium only till the COVID-19 situation remains the same. BCCI secretary Jay Shah had confirmed last month that the two-month-old affair will begin in the last week of March and will continue till the end of May.

What’s Interesting about the Mega-Event?

  • The event is going to be a two months long and exciting after such long break due to Covid-19.
  • 10 teams are going to be participating that involves 10 states and the craze that it going to have
  • News faces are going to emerge for the role of Captaincy. Names like KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, and Ishan Kishan and not the least Shikhar Dhawan.

For more news updates on your favorite sports stay tuned only on




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...