Saturday, December 10, 2022



Football News – Asia delivered another World Cup ticket



The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 has a new qualifier in Asia: South Korea won their match and joined Iran in the Asian qualifiers. The quotas that remain will be defined in the last two days.

By Facundo Di Bona (@facudibona).

South Korea, with their 2-0 away win over Syria at Dubai’s Zabeel Stadium, became the 15th team to qualify for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022.

The South Korean national team led by the Portuguese Paulo Bento only needed a draw to certify the trip to Qatar and sealed it with goals in the second half from Kim Jin-su (53′) and Kwon Chang-hoon (71′).

Korea will contest its 11th World Cup, the 10th in a row.

Their best run was as a co-organizer with Japan in 2002, when they finished in fourth place, with Guus Hiddink as coach.

South Korea is added as an Asian representative to Iran, which last Thursday also guaranteed its classification with its victory against Iraq, and the playoff ticket -from its own Group A- will be left to the results of the United Arab Emirates (9), Lebanon (6) and Iraq (5) in the last two dates.

The other two teams that will obtain the direct pass from Asia will be defined with the last two matches of group B and the contenders are Saudi Arabia (19), Japan (18) and – today in the playoffs – Australia (15), who already took over of at least the first three positions.

How was it today?

On this day, the Japanese team achieved its fifth consecutive victory when it beat the Saudis 2-0 with goals from Liverpool’s Takumi Minamino and KRC Genk’s Junya Ito.

While Australia could not sustain the little difference in the classification and was further from the direct classification, after the tie in two goals against the weak Oman.

The Oceania team started winning with a goal from Jamie MacLaren, Abdullah Fawaz tied it and Aaron Mooy put them ahead again, but they couldn’t hold the advantage and -in the 89th minute- Fawaz himself converted for the tie and his brace.

Apart from Qatar, the host country, South Korea and Iran, Germany, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Brazil and Argentina.

For Latest Sports News and Updates stay tuned only on



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...