Thursday, December 8, 2022



BCCI Announced 15 Member Squad For Asia Cup 2022 Here’s The Details



The BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the Asia Cup 2022 to be played in the UAE from August 27. Virat Kohli and KL Rahul are back, while Bumrah is out.

BCCI has announced the 15-member Indian cricket team for Asia Cup 2022. Team India’s star bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the tournament due to a knee injury. Former captain Virat Kohli is back on the team. He last played against England. Star opener KL Rahul has also managed to make it to the team for the first time since February. He has been made the team’s vice-captain for the upcoming T20 tournament. Rahul was unable to participate in the previous series against the West Indies due to being under the grip of Kovid-19. He is back on the team after recovering from sports hernia surgery.

BCCI also tweeted that fast bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not available for selection in the upcoming tournament due to injuries. Three players have been kept as backup for this tournament. These players are Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Akshar Patel. India will play their first match in Asia Cup 2022 against Pakistan on August 28 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul are back

Out-of-form batsman Virat Kohli has been selected in the Indian T20 squad for the Asia Cup. He is returning after a break of over a month since the England tour on July 17. He was rested from the recently concluded ODI and T20I series against the West Indies and will also be rested during the upcoming ODI series in Zimbabwe. Since last year’s World Cup, Kohli has played just four T20 Internationals and missed 19 matches. In those four matches, he has scored 81 runs at an average of 20 and a strike rate of 128.57. Apart from this, vice-captain KL Rahul, who was out of the team for a long time due to sports hernia surgery, is also back on the team. After recovering from this injury, he contracted Corona, due to which he could not tour the West Indies.

Jasprit Bumrah’s exit from the Asia Cup is a big blow for India. Without Bumrah, the Indian bowling unit will look a little weaker. Mohammed Shami has also not got a place in the team. Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar Yadav have been rewarded for consistently performing well in the shortest format of the game. Left-arm fast bowler Arshdeep and spinner Ravi Bishnoi have also managed to make it to the 15-member squad. Arshdeep and Ravi Safed have been successful in impressing the selectors in ball cricket. Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson have also been left out of the Asia Cup squad. Sanju had performed well in the last few matches.


Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

⚠️Disclaimer– This channel does not promote any illegal (copyright) content OR Images. Images/pics provided by this channel belong to their respective owners.

              "Articles" Copyright ©2022 by Playon99 News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

BCCI removes old selectors, adds multiple captains’ deployment jobs for new selectors

Chetan Sharma’s Old committee is not up to the...

Winning story of T20 World Cup 2007 – web series coming soon

Brief background of the series makers An internet series of...

Cristiano Ronaldo will 100% retire if his Portugal Team wins FIFA Cup

Manchester United striker Cristiano Ronaldo has introduced that he'll...

Lionel Messi iconic ‘Golden Boots’ reflects FIFA Trophy colors

Argentina forward Lionel Messi can vie in his final...